This site requires JavaScript to function.

Some things may work, but others will definitely not.

How to enable JavaScript

Demonstration Site for CW

Vernal Equinox (First Day of Spring / Autumn 2015)

Friday, March 20th 2015 6:45 AM — 7:00 AM

First Day of Spring / Autumn 2015

 

Astronomically speaking, the March equinox occurs when the Sun crosses the celestial equator on its way north along the ecliptic.  In the Northern Hemisphere, the March equinox is known as the vernal, or spring, equinox, and marks the start of the spring season.

In the Southern Hemisphere, this equinox is known as the autumnal, or fall, equinox and marks the start of the fall season; the vernal equinox for the Southern Hemisphere occurs in September.

The March equinox happens at the same moment across the world but is converted to local time. In 2015, it falls on March 20 at 6:45 P.M. EDT, 5:45 P.M. CDT, 4:45 P.M. MDT, and 3:45 P.M. PDT, for example.